RAOF – Dinner

Holy Smokes, I have been busy! 2 weeks ago, I think I was the right amount of busy. All within a couple of days, 3 extra things were added to my plate and the last 2 weeks I have been feeling a bit overwhelmed. Hopefully things will settle down. I’m most worried about the half marathon coming up as my running as been suffering from the new schedule. Sigh, at least the time is going by faster.

Any who, enough whining. One of the things I have to do is get some volunteers trained on helping with Care Teams. Care Teams go in and assists when there is a casualty. We provide meals, help with pets, clean the home, pick up relatives who fly in, that sort of stuff. I called one volunteer and found out she was in Utah as her father had just passed away. They had to take a red eye back to North Carolina on Sunday night. I offered to bring her dinner Monday as I knew she would be exhausted. I’m not sure if they have 4 kids or 5, but I do know they have teenage boys, and all teenage boys do is eat. Food is not my favorite way to serve as I don’t even like cooking for my own family. Plus there is the hassle of getting your dishes back and all that. Luckily Walmart has rotisserie chickens, steam veggies cooked in the microwave and mash potatoes, also cooked in the microwave. I grab those plus some milk, picked up the kids from the bus stop and head 30 minutes south.

RAOF 9

When we pulled up to the house the kids asked if we were going to put the food on the porch, ring the doorbell and run. All our other RAOF were done secretly so it was natural for them to think this. I thought it was cute of them.

We did ring the doorbell, we didn’t run and it was answered by a young female zombie. (Maybe we should have taken off.) I asked if we had the right house and she just grunted. Soon we met some more zombies, just stumbling around looking for something to eat, as zombies tend to do. They had all just woken up. The poor mom looked so tired. I can’t imagine how it would feel to have your father pass away, your husband not around to lean on, pulling your kids out of school and fly (the price of the tickets must have been so high!) to another state for a week. As they like to say in the South, bless her heart.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

